A very interesting Synology feature is the block level synchronization.

This feature allows you to synch only your file changes at the “block level”, between your SRC-NAS and your DST-NAS.

Suffice it to say it is very efficient on your bandwidth!

Example:

Provided you have two equal Synology NASes (I had two DS1511+), and you wish to avail of the Block Level Synchronization feature, let's assume:

  • SRC-NAS is: 192.168.1.200
  • DST-NAS is: 192.168.1.201

Synology NASes are managed through a nice Web-UI, so I'll also assume you got full access to both.

On the SRC-NAS.

Go to Control Panel -> group and add a new group (group).
Go to Control Panel -> user and add a new admin user (usr).
Go to Control Panel -> Shared Folder and create a new shared folder (shared-folder-bck, use default options).

Go to Control Panel -> Network Backup, then make sure “Enable Network Backup service” is ticked, then check “Synology Backup Mode”.

Go to Backup and restore (either from the “arrow” menu or from the search menu - tip: input the first 3 chars and select it).

Create a new “Shared folder Sync” task by clicking the “Create” button and by following the wizard (choose the options you like).

On the DST-NAS.

Go to Control Panel -> group and add a new group (group).
Go to Control Panel -> user and add a new admin user (usr).
Go to Control Panel -> Shared Folder and create a new shared folder (shared-folder-bck, use default options).

Go to Control Panel -> Network Backup, then make sure “Enable Network Backup service” is ticked, then check “Synology Backup Mode” and “Enable Shared Folder Sync Service”.

Go to Backup and restore (either from the “arrow” menu or from the search menu - just input the first 3 chars and select it).

Create a new “Shared folder Sync” task by clicking the “Create” button and by following the wizard (choose the options you like).

Then test by uploading a new file inside your shared folder!

From you computer.

\\SRC-NAS-IP\shared-folder-bck
input user/pwd combo
create a new text file and save it.

You’ll see that the DST-NAS-IP will automatically reflect your changes :)

Senior Professional Network and Computer Systems Engineer during work hours and father when home.

Andrea strives to deliver outstanding customer service and heaps of love towards his family.

In this Ad-sponsored space, Andrea shares his quest for "ultimate" IT knowledge, meticulously brought to you in an easy to read format.

Rate this post

One comment on “Synology-to-Synology Block Level Synchronization - pt.1.

  • If you save new data on source then synology will copy it to destination - this is ok.
    But if you will copy or create any new file to destinationa nas, will it also sync to the first NAS, or synchronization is only made in 1 way?

Comments are closed.